There Lies the Home (2006)

“… one of the most irresistible releases in recent memory.” – American Record Guide

Cantus proudly presents, “There Lies the Home,” a song cycle based on man’s journey across the sea. This exciting and heartfelt album features works by Stanford, Tormis, Beach and Sting, and includes the world premiere recording of “A True Heart is Waiting” by Edie Hill. Art songs, folksongs, new commissions, modern masterworks and pop songs come together to weave the tale of one man’s journey across the waters in a way that has become the hallmark of Cantus.

 CD (includes shipping): $20.00

Audio Samples and Downloads

Click on a track number below to hear a preview. Click iTunes be taken to the iTunes Store to purchase the album or song. (If you prefer to purchase in MP3 format, click here.)

Track Listing

1. Prelude (Before Dawn)
Edie Hill
2. Sea Fever
Amy Beach
3. Break, Break, Break
Brian Arreola
Songs of the Sea
C. Villiers Stanford
4. Drake’s Drum
5. Outward Bound
6. Devon, O Devon
7. Homeward Bound
8. The Old Superb
10. Shenandoah
arr. Bartholomew
11. Lowlands
arr. Alice Parker/Robert Shaw
12. Muistse mere laulud
Veljo Tormis
13. Incantatio maris aestuosi
Veljo Tormis
14. Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald
Gordon Lightfoot
15. Valparaiso
16. A True Heart is Waiting
Edie Hill