Song of a Czech: Dvořák and Janáček for Men’s Voices (2013)


Song of a Czech, focuses on the works of Antonín Dvořák and Leoš Janáček, who were two of the giants of Czech musical history, as well as great personal friends. Both wrote music for male chorus, taking similar inspiration from folksongs of their native lands of Bohemia and Moravia, and from all over Eastern Europe. Janáček dedicated his “Four Male Partsongs” to Dvořák, who dubbed them “a gift with great promise, and in these times a truly special one.”

These lifelong musical conversations between two of the most beloved Czech composers undoubtedly played an integral role in shaping the national choral sound, and even the development of European choral music in the 20th century. With this new recording of repertoire by these “Bohemian brothers,” Cantus explores literature rarely heard outside of Eastern Europe, lending their trademark warmth, blend and exemplary musicianship to these fascinating and rarely recorded treasures of the choral canon.

CD (includes shipping): $20.00    

Audio Samples and Downloads

Click on a track number below to hear a preview. Click View be taken to the iTunes Store to purchase the album or song. (If you prefer to purchase in MP3 format, click here.)

Track Listing

1. Leoš Janáček: Veni, Sancte Spiritus, JW II/13

Antonín Dvořák: Choral Songs for Male Voices, B 66
2. I. Převozníček (Boatman)
3. II. Milenka travička (The Beloved as Poisoner)
4. III. Huslař (The Fiddler)

Leoš Janáček: Four Male Partsongs, JW IV/17
5. I. Výhrůžka (The Threat)
6. II. Ó, lásko! (Oh, Love!)
7. III. Ach vojna! (Ah, the Army!)
8. IV. Krásné oči tvé (Your Beautiful Eyes)

9. Antonín Dvořák: Píseň Čecha (Song of a Czech), B 73

Antonín Dvořák: Three Choruses for Male Voices and Piano, B 76, Op. 43
10. I. Žal (Grief)
11. II. Divná voda (Strange Water)
12. III. Dĕvče v háji (The Girl in the Grove)

13. Leoš Janáček: Ave Maria, JW IV/16

Leoš Janáček: Three Choruses for Male Voices, JW IV/19
14. I. Loučení (Parting)
15. II. Holubička (The Little Dove)
16. III. Žárlivec (The Jealous Man)

Antonín Dvořák: Five Choruses for Male Voices, B 87, Op. 27
17. I. Pomluva (Malicious Gossip)
18. II. Pomořané (Dwellers by the Sea)
19. III. Přípověď lásky (A Promise of Love)
20. IV. Ztracená ovečka (The Lost Lamb)
21. V. Hostina (The Feast)

22. Leoš Janáček: Láska opravdivá (True Love), JW IV/8